Latest from Social Media #16

Tumblr

--------------

Anonymous asked: Hi Pat, You are great because you are so close to the charmedfans! Im so excited about charmed season 10 and i enjoyed all issues so far except issue 6 because i think its was a little boring (no action scenes). I like the relationship between Cole and Phoebe and issue 5 was my favorite! I want to ask you why Piper didn't has any storylines this season,she didn't even use her powers anymore. Will she use anytime soon her power to revert molecules back to their original form? Thank you.

Pat Shand: Only six issues in and you’ve already decided that Piper isn’t getting an arc this season, huh? Seems hasty. Anyway, Piper has been using her powers all season. She’s done molecular immobilization, combustion, and acceleration multiple times. I’m not going to have her do molecular reversion this season, however, because she was only able to access that power at the height of her possible future strength at the end of Season Nine. X


Anonymous asked: If someone else killed knox (say last season he got killed in the cross fire during thematic switch) would kose have died too or did it only work one way meaning if only kose get's killed then knox died too but not the other way around. Also - say someone else killed knox- would the agreement somehow still been on (or say leo got killed by someone would the charmed ones still be bound to help knox or would the agreement been broken)

PS: I think death on either end would nullify the agreement, but Kose may have dark enough magic that he could do some sort of bind on Knox’s soul even after it passes in. Knox, however, wouldn’t do the same to Leo. X


Anonymous asked: Mr Shand! This new issue is amazing! I wanted to ask because in the comics, not draw the tattoos of Piper and Phoebe. Actually, the tattoos are Holly Marie Combs and Alyssa Milano. But to look like based on the appearance of the actresses, should draw them tattoos. Thank you for this spectacular Season 10!

PS: Okay, so, this is such a strange thing about the tattoos. For some reason, they are the easiest things to miss! For example, I remember that the biggest complaint about the Buffy and Angel comics were the fact that Angel and Faith’s tattoos were constantly missing. In Charmed, it’s completely my fault. I have to talk to CBS to see if we want to start using them or if it’s too late to add them in now. X


Anonymous asked: Pat, my first: the 10x07 it´s awesome! Good Script and good drawings.

PS: Thanks! I love this message because I was honestly a bit nervous about #7. After it went to print, I began to wonder if I tried to cram too much in, if it should’ve been a two-issue arc instead of a one-shot. I try to balance the fact that this is a comic book that needs to be a visually striking story with the desire to give y’all an episode’s worth of content every month. I was a bit unsure how I did this time, so I’m glad you’re liking it. X


Anonymous asked: The titles you announced- are they a play on words or puns like the other titles? I cant tell

PS: #11 is a direct reference to a previous villain and 12 references a popular quote: “Patience is a virtue.” Take from that what you will! X


Anonymous asked: completley hypothetical... if season 11 were to happen and they asked you to stay on as editor (but not writer) would you?

PS: While I would be flattered by the offer, it would be an emphatic no. Editing a licensed property is a singularly difficult task, and coming off of both an editorial and writing position in Season Ten, I wouldn’t have it in me. A season is such a commitment, and I feel that all I can give Charmed is my 100% all, heart/soul/etc, for one season. X


Anonymous asked: I'm very curious about the process - what makes a licensed material like charmed more difficult or different than say robyn hood.

PS: Great question. The short of it is the approval process. After I get a script for Robyn Hood or Wonderland approved, the only one who gives notes on the art is me. On Robyn Hood especially, because I’m also writing it, it’s a very fluid process. On Wonderland, the writer (Erica J. Heflin) might chime in, or on either title, the art director (Chris Cote) may have a rare note. But it’s a very quick and straightforward process. With a licensed property, after I approve something on my end – from a plot to a script to pencils to colors to letters to a cover mock-up – it has to then be approved by the licensor. It’s an entirely different process with things I just don’t have to worry about on other titles, such as likenesses or longterm continuity. It’s a rewarding experience and I love CBS – I couldn’t ask for better licensors. They’re smart, kind, fair, and they treat me like one of their own! It’s really a time thing. Honestly, the only reason I can fit editing that book into my schedule is because I’m also writing it, so it streamlines my process a bit. Editing another writer on Charmed would be impossible for me if I wanted to keep writing other titles, and writing will always be my main priority. Hope this makes sense! X


Anonymous asked: can't believe you're pairing Prue and Kyra!!! My favorite sister and one of my favorite recurring character! if someone told me something like that would happen when i was watching season 7 in 2004-2005, i would never have believed it! it's just the perfection! THANKS!

PS: They’re two of my favorites as well! It felt like such a natural fit to me. X


Anonymous asked: Oh my god you're doing a research about Prue and Barbas, and from my favorite episode ever, Shannen was so wonderful, and the swimming pool scene was so emotional, like the very end of the episode were she's in the attic!!! Prue, the sister who was a affraid to say i love you is back, can't believe it...I fall in love with her since this moment :) Please please please make Prue kick Barbas' ass, i need to see this :)) Thanks for bringing him back <3

PS: The Prue/Barbas relationship is really interesting to me, and I think the issue will surprise everyone. X


Anonymous asked: Hi Pat! are we gonna see soon Elise again? In issue 6 even if it was short, she was great :)

PS: Yeah, she is in #8! X


Anonymous asked: on a scale from 1-10 how much is charmed 8 rocking the fandom on it's release... also will we be seeing a new "picture" now that prue is back... prue piper phoebe had their sister picture... and we saw multiple ones of piper phoebe and paige throughout the series s1-8... it's time for one with all the sisters

PS: That’s a super hard question to answer, because there is no way to gauge that really… But each issue in the next arc really tries to outdo its predecessor with the shock factor. The surprises all come from a place of character and heart rather than twists for twists sake though! X


Anonymous asked: I dream of a Prue one-shot. Pretty please?

PS: No one-shots are on the slate… but #12 is Prue-centric! X


Anonymous asked: I'm fine with Charmed ending after s10. It has to end sooner or later, and we got five more years worth of stories thanks to you guys, so I've made my peace with it. That said, how do you approach being the one that has to craft a fitting series finale after 10 seasons? Do you already have something in mind? Not asking for spoilers (I know by now that you won't give them anyway), just wondering how you feel about it and what's the thought process behind it all.

PS: I have a lot of it figured out, definitely. As far as essentially ending a series after ten seasons, my thoughts on the finale – and the season as a whole piece of work – were inspired by Scott Snyder on Batman. Every story arc he’s done, he’s told the ultimate Batman story, and he’s said that in interviews. He never pulls any punches, because why would he – he’s writing Batman! The core of it, though, is that Snyder writes what he wants to read, and the fans follow. That’s how I’m doing this season. I’m examining what I care about in Charmed and what I have to say about these characters, and I’m doing it! I hope fans are satisfied by the end, but I honestly can’t let myself think much about that! X